mhsaa-logoA Mississippi School of the Arts vocal music senior was recently selected to receive the Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athlete Award, a top award presented by the Mississippi High School Activities Association. Each year, MHSAA selects one male and one female from each athletic district. There are eight districts in Mississippi.  Joey Madison Davis (Class of 2016) was the female recipient for district seven and one of only sixteen awards given throughout the state. The award is based on outstanding academic honors, ACT, and participation in MHSAA sanctioned sports. The selection staff, outside of MHSAA, chose among nearly 300 nominations this year.

According to the MHSAA web site, the scholar-athlete program was initiated in 1996 by then-MHSAA executive director Ennis Proctor in honor of Lindy Callahan and his wife, Ann. Mr. Callahan served as an athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School from 1953 until his retirement in 1992. Mr. Callahan, a football and baseball standout for Meridian High School and the University of Mississippi, has long been admired for his leadership and dedication to the schools and students of his home state.

A former president of the MHSAA, Mr. Callahan was inducted into the Mississippi Association of Coaches Hall of Fame in 1977, the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Hall of Fame in 1995, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in 2004 and the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA) Hall of Fame in 2010.

Joey earned four letters in soccer while competing for Brookhaven High School; Helped the Lady Panthers to Region Championship and the Class 5A playoffs for the 2015-2016 season; Participated in the 5A soccer playoffs for the 2014-2015 season; Also lettered in tennis.

Her accomplishments/accolades include highest average in Algebra I, Geometry, Chemistry and Spanish I; Beta Club; Student Government Association; National Society of High School Scholars; Band, Most Improved; Choir; Arts Ambassadors; First Priority; Cheer/Dance; Color Guard; University of Mississippi APEX Leadership Conference; Mississippi Scholars Representative; Vacation Bible School volunteer; Children’s Church volunteer; Brookhaven Friendship Baptist Church youth group; Mission Trips to Texas and Bolivia. Plans to study Pharmaceutical Science at the University of Mississippi and graduate school at the University of Southern California.

Joey’s GPA is 4.006 and ranks first in her class of 65. Her ACT score is 31.


Pictured (L to R): Mississippi House Representative Vince Mangold, Joey Davis, Debra Price (Principal), and Mississippi House Representative Becky Currie.

“Joey is a very accomplished student despite personal adversity she has faced in her life. She has demonstrated great courage, hard work, and honesty. She managed not only to deal with her personal struggles, but kept her grades high and exceed expectations of her by Mississippi School of the Arts” — Suzanne Hirsch, Executive Director, MSA.

“I am so thankful to have been able to be a member of so many groups and teams. Even though it got overwhelming at times, I do not regret participating in anything because I am the diverse, responsible and outgoing person that I am today due to it.” — Joey Madison Davis.

Full list of 2016 recipients statewide: District 1 (Boy) — John Connor McRae, Tishomingo County; District 1 (Girl) — Katie Davis, New Albany; District 2 (Boy) — A.J. Forrest, Grenada; District 2 (Girl) — Allyson Avant, Water Valley; District 3 (Boy) — Kamron Daniels, Greenwood; District 3 (Girl) — Hart Rogers, Cleveland; District 4 (Boy) — Sage Graham, Ethel; District 4 (Girl) — Kenley McMullan, Nanih Waiya; District 5 (Boy) — Micah Heathcock, Northeast Jones; District 5 (Girl) — Kailey Ready, Stringer; District 6 (Boy) — Tyler Irwin, Clinton; District 6 (Girl) — Isabelle Moseley, St. Andrew’s; District 7 (Boy) — Daniel Clark, Brookhaven; District 7 (Girl) — Joey Davis, Mississippi School of the Arts; District 8 (Boy) — Samuel Hopper, Petal; District 8 (Girl) — Maya McInnis, Gautier

MSA logo
Now we rise, we fly, we shine.